96 South Main Street, PO Box 77, Nephi, Utah 84648 - Voice: 435 623-0525 - FAX: 435 623-4735

On our front page this week


  • Candidates file for office in city governments

Fourteen people filed for office in Nephi City, Mona City, and Levan Town. They all had to file before the June 7, 2013 deadline.
Nephi City has two council member seats open, for a four year term, and those who filed were Greg Rowley, Kent Boyd Park, and Shirl J. Nichols. Those who filed for the Mayor position, four year term, were Mark R. Jones and Robert L. Painter. Write-ins will be allowed for the election if individuals file a declaration notice of their write-in candidacy 60 days before the date of the election with the Nephi City Recorder.
Mona City has two candidates who filed for the Mayor position, a four year term. They include William (Bill) Mills and Greg A. Newton. Molli Graham, Jeffrey T. Smith, and Michael Stringer all filed for a 4 year term as council members.
Russell Mangelson and Bruce Hubbard will run for a four year term as Levan Town Mayor. Ryan Jackson and Brent L. Taylor filed for a four year term council member position.
The general election will be held on November 5, 2013 . Register to vote now with the county clerk's office, 160 N. Main, Nephi.